Old Houses: 1900-1945 (555)

Featured Discussions

Attic Floor insulation

Well it is that time of year... and I thought I should ask before I bought anything. Right now I have a very small amount of "rock wool" in…

Started by MartinLatest Reply

Insulating original windows

Hello! We are in the (long) process of restoring a 1930 bungalow that has 20-odd double-hung windows. My husband is repairing them himself,…

Started by Adrienne MLatest Reply

Color Selection Chart from 1920's

In items left by original owner we found this color selection chart. our home is a Gordon Van Tine catalog house but we feel that the color…

Started by Nick WylieLatest Reply

Discussions Replies Latest Activity

Could anyone help me find out where to advertise my old house items?

I am quite new to this, so bear with me. I am salvaging wood and some other items from an old house that is going to be demolished. Where c…

Started by Cathy J Decker

0 21 hours ago

Old kitchen sink advice?

Hi everyone,  My husband and I are working on our 1905 Victorian, and the kitchen is next! We found an awesome old sink on CraigsList that…

Started by Kaitlyn E.

6 yesterday
Reply by Michael Cozad

What do I do with this kitchen?

I have added a picture of the kitchen of a home we are purchasing.  I love the brick flooring (original).  I want to keep the original kitc…

Started by LaDonna Dutton

9 on Tuesday
Reply by Mark W. Hoffa

matching late 1920's moulding

I'm trying to match some moulding but I have no idea where to find it. Any ideas? Thanks!

Started by John

7 Mar 13
Reply by John

Removing cement/plaster/The Blob from tiles

I recently purchased 10 antique tiles from a salvage company with the intention of creating a decorative panel. Most of the titles are n…

Started by Amanda Stroud

9 Mar 2
Reply by Donald Shore

New Knobs, Old Mortise Locksets

There is probably an easy answer to this question, but I can't seem to find it.  Several years ago, I bought and restored/remodeled a 1929…