1920 Foursquare exterior is boring! Suggestions for trim colors are welcomed!

Hello, everyone! This is my first time posting here about my "new" house (I was here about 3-4 years ago when I owned an 1857 Victorian).  My new house is a 1920 foursquare that is mostly Craftsman with some Neoclassical thrown in.

The previous owners did a great job maintaining the original features on the interior of the house, but unfortunately they chose light gray vinyl siding for the exterior.  The white metal flashing around the windows is new, and the eave brackets are sadly long gone.  

I would like to add a trim color to the house, probably just around the windows.  I love bright and vibrant colors and for some reason keep leaning towards a burnt orange color for the trim.  I would love to hear other people's opinions about possible trim colors and which parts of the house could use color.  Only caveat is that it has to work with the darn siding somehow.  Sadly, the vinyl is here to stay, as it's nearly new and it would be way beyond our budget to remove and repaint any wood underneath (assuming it's even still there....gulp.)  

Here is a palette I was using:

https://c1.staticflickr.com/2/1138/813596136_5fe837986c_z.jpg

Thanks, everyone!

Views: 770

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Gray siding, white trim, burgundy sash is a very elegant scheme.

Thank you! I like the burgundy idea, very classic.

I hate to be the one to suggest this but vinyl can be painted very easily with the proper paint.  I  painted mine 14 years ago and except for the south end that has faded a little it looks just like the day it was finished.  The paint sticks better if the vinyl has been exposed to the weather rather than just out of the box.  Just something for thought.  Lair